About the Guild

The new guild was formed in early 2018 by members of Albemarle Handweavers Guild, Charlottesville Fiber Arts Guild, and Whirling Whorls Fiber Arts to provide a single guild serving all of Central Virginia, with a focus on all fiber arts disciplines and artists/crafters, at whatever skill level – from beginners to professionals.

We invite you to become a member!  Whether you are a weaver, spinner, knitter/crocheter, dyer, felter, quilter, basket maker, sock machine knitter, braider, beader, or embroiderer, please join us for informal craft-ins, educational programs, dye days, workshops, and special events.

Member benefits include: members receive the monthly newsletter, guild emails and program notices, and have access to the membership list; members may register for guild workshops and programs at the member rate; and members are eligible to register early for the MAFA Conference at the member rate.

We are a 501.c.3 organization, and your donations to the guild may be tax-deductible.

Please email us for more info at info@cvfg.org.
Join the guild here.

2020-2022 CVFG Leaders:

President – Rebecca Fox,  president@cvfg.org
VP/Programs Chair- volunteer needed,  programs@cvfg.org
Secretary/Newsletter Editor – Cyndi Jara-Almonte,  newsletter@cvfg.org
Treasurer/Membership – Zebee Levet, treasurer@cvfg.org
Past President – Margaret O’Reilly Briggs, pastpresident@cvfg.org
Outreach Chair – volunteer needed,  outreach@cvfg.org
Website – Erica Rowe,  web@cvfg.org
Rental Equipment – Carolyn Ohle, rentals@cvfg.org
Library – Mary Strouse & Lynne Schwar, library@cvfg.org

2018-2020 CVFG Officers:

President – Margaret Briggs
VP/Programs Chair – Melanie Rowan
Secretary/Newsletter Editor – Cyndi Jara-Almonte
Treasurer/Membership – Marla Campbell
Outreach Chair – Kimberly Radcliffe


2020-2022 Committee Members Needed

Here are the positions we need to fill:

Communications – Social Media: Join the committee to help publicize guild events, programs, and workshops, as well as events submitted to us from other Virginia guilds. Familiarity with Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter a plus. Communications – PR & Graphics: We’d love someone with graphics and/or computer skills to help us publicize guild events by helping to produce and distribute the flyers created for our guild programs and workshops. Flyers are used on our website, on social media, and IRL at shops and events.

OTHER WAYS TO GET INVOLVED:
Study Group Leader:
If you have a spinning, weaving, knitting or other topic or question, we welcome members starting new study groups and we’ll help publicize it. You don’t have to be an expert! If you have questions about a fiber art or particular technique, others may also. It just takes one person to coordinate a group.